EatDrink

Saké Restaurant & Bar celebrates the arrival of spring

Saké Restaurant & Bar is celebrating the arrival of spring and the stunning sakura, or cherry blossom.

  

Throughout September, Saké Restaurant & Bar will feature two exclusive dinners focusing on the regional cuisines of Japan, a picnic-themed lunch event, and limited-edition cocktails inspired by the iconic pink blooms.

 

Japan’s regional cuisine will be showcased at two dinners that focus on the cuisines of East and West Japan, respectively. All six Saké restaurants in Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane will celebrate Cherry Blossom season and host these exquisite dinners in their private dining rooms.

 

Each menu, paired with drinks, is $159 per person, or guests can book both dinners for a total of $300 per person. The full menus are available here.

 

EAST DINNER

Saké The Rocks – Tuesday, 3 September

Saké Eagle Street Pier – Tuesday, 3 September

Saké Hamer Hall – Wednesday, 4 September

Saké Double Bay – Wednesday, 4 September

Saké Flinders Lane – Wednesday, 11 September

Saké Manly – Thursday, 12 September

 

WEST DINNER

Saké The Rocks – Tuesday, 10 September

Saké Eagle Street Pier – Tuesday, 17 September

Saké Hamer Hall – Wednesday, 18 September

Saké Double Bay – Thursday, 19 September

Saké Flinders Lane – Thursday, 26 September

Saké Manly – Thursday, 26 September

 

A weekend picnic event will be held at Saké The Rocks, Saké Hamer Hall and Saké Eagle Street Pier with dedicated spaces transformed into Japanese floral wonderlands. Dine tatami-style with an extensive, shared Japanese menu ($169pp), which includes a cocktail on arrival and two hours of Veuve Clicquot Rosé, Cloudy Bay wine and Sapporo beer.

 

Image credit: Anna Kucera


WEEKEND PICNIC

Saké The Rocks: Saturday, 14 September and Sunday, 15 September – 12.30pm

Saké Hamer Hall: Saturday, 21 September and Sunday, 22 September – 12.30pm

Saké Eagle Street Pier: Saturday, 28 September and Sunday, 29 September – 12.30pm

 

Four limited-edition cocktails will be available at each Saké restaurant for the month of September.

• Not An Ordinary Cherry ($22) is a bold blend of Bulleit Bourbon, Cinzano Rosso Vermouth, Sakura Vermouth 

  and Peychaud’s Bitters.

• Yozakura ($22) is a bitter–sweet mix of Ketel One Citroen Vodka, cherry syrup, lemon juice and egg whites.

• Cheri Dorinku ($25) is a bitter, fruity, refreshing blend of Pampero Especial Rum, Cherry Heering Liqueur, lime 

   juice and cherry syrup topped with elderflower tonic.

• Little Geisha ($22) is a fruity–sweet combination of Tanqueray Gin, Luxardo Maraschino sour cherry liqueur, 

  Amabuki Brewery Pink Lady sake, mixed with cranberry juice, lime juice, strawberry puree and egg whites.